Discover the History of Buderim
The History of Buderim
Buderim was the first colonial settlement on the area we now know as the Sunshine Coast. The first white man to officially arrive was Tom Petrie, who in 1862 rowed up the Maroochy River with a party of Indigenous Australians and discovered the huge stands of native forests. The State of Queensland was in its infancy, recently cleaved from New South Wales, being called to form a government in 1859.
Massive changes befell the Mountain from this time as the area was essentially clear-felled to serve the insatiable demand for timber and farm land by the growing capital of Brisbane. The impact of this action on the First Australians is well documented and we pay homage to their history on this site at https://www.buderim.com/indigenous-buderim
Over the next 150+ years Buderim Mountain went from timber resource to farms to urban centre, building a rich history of achievement and indeed it became famous as Australia’s ginger producer, international awards for coffee, a retirement centre and now for some for the most expensive and desirable real estate on the Sunshine Coast.
Taking the bus to Mooloolaba in the early days.
“Ryhope” an early boarding house built by the Lindsays of Buderim.
Buderim’s Historic Tramway
In 1915 the local farmers organised a small-guage railway to connect the top of the Mountain to the main station at Palmwood.
The idea was to enable all-weather transport of their produce to markets in a timely fashion. The roads of the day were nothing short of horrendous, especially in the wet.
This little train significantly contributed to building the legend of Buderim, as it opened Buderim, Mooloolaba and surrounds up to a new class of visitor . . . the Tourist!
The Buderim Tramway was subsequently, the birth of the Sunshine Coast’s tourism industry.
Read more fascinating history of the Buderim-Palmwoods tramway and the local fight to have one of the trains restored and displayed in the Village on the Buderim website at https://www.buderim.com/tramway
Buderim Ginger – the roots of international acclaim.
For many decades, the name of Buderim was synonymous with ginger. In the late 1920’s an abandoned shed in Main Street became the birthplace of Buderim’s ginger production. The business grew fast and soon occupied a massive factory right in the heart of Buderim Village. This was a famous tourist attraction and arguably the pinnacle of Buderim’s rural achievements.
In the 1980’s, the factory was moved to Yandina where it still operates. The old factory site on Buderim Mountain was retained as a popular market for many years and along with amazing views at the centre of town, offered to tourists and residents a selection of local produce, crafts, antiques and interesting stalls of all types. Ultimately the site was sold, factory remnants demolished and replaced by the Woolworths Supermarket. This brought much controversy at the time and locked away the views forever, changing the very nature Village in the eyes of many.
Historic Pioneer Cottage Buderim
How did Buderim people live 100 years ago? Check it out!
Step back in time Buderim style, at The Pioneer Cottage. This amazing original house (now a museum) is located at 5 Ballinger Crescent, Buderim: a piece of living history from the Pioneering Days in Buderim.
The home was built using pit-sawn cedar and beech around 1880 by J.K. Burnett, an influential, original resident of Buderim.
If the name sounds familiar . . . the family name was given to the main street through the Buderim Village, just around the corner.
The Buderim Pioneer Cottage is listed by the National Trust and on the National Heritage Register. The Buderim War Memorial Community Association (BWMCA) owns the property and it is cared for by the volunteers of Buderim Historical Society.
Take a visit and walk through the quaint rooms, furnished in original period decor and marvel at the displays of Buderim historic memorabilia! The Pioneer Cottage will give you a first-hand look into Buderim’s colonial farming origins and a must-see for visitors and residents alike.
Entry is available Monday to Saturday 11am-3pm.
Closed Public Holidays and Sundays
Group tours available by appointment.
A small entry fee applies
(Adults $5 Children $1)
Contact the Cottage by calling 07 5450 1966.
Contact via email on firstname.lastname@example.org